#### PROGRAMME - AHMEDABAD

## Subject "Dispute Settlement and Protection of Consumer Rights in the Telecom and

Broadcasting Sectors"
Saturday, the 24<sup>th</sup> March, 2007
Venue : The Pride Hotel

JGURAI	CECC	

09.30 am to 09.55 am	Registration of delegates and Tea	
10.00 am to 10.05 am	Lighting of Lamp	
10.05 am to 10.10 am	Welcome Address by Shri Vinod Vaish, Hon'ble Member, Telecom Disputes	
	Settlement & Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT).	
10.10 am to 10.20 am	Address and presentation on 'Overview of the telecom scenario in India, including	
	rapidly changing technology in the telecom, cable and broadcasting sectors' by	
	Shri Nripendra Misra, Chairman, TRAI	
10.20 am to 10.30 am	Address and presentation on "Evolving dispute resolution scenario in telecom and	
	broadcasting sectors" by Hon'ble Mr. Justice D.P.Wadhwa, former Chairperson,	
	TDSAT and former Judge, Supreme Court of India	
10.30 am to 10.40 am	Address by <b>Hon'ble Mr Justice Y. R. Meena</b> , Chief Justice, Gujarat High Court	
10.40 am to 10.50 am	Inaugural Address by Hon'ble Mr Justice C.K.Thakker, Judge, Supreme Court of	
	India.	
10.50 am to 11.00 am	Address by Hon'ble Mr. Justice Arun Kumar, Chairperson, Telecom Disputes	
	Settlement & Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT).	
	Tea Break	
	SESSION-1	
(Topic: Status of Dispute Settlement Mechanism in Telecom and Broadcasting Sectors in India)		
11.15 am to 11.20 am	Opening remarks and introduction of the panelists by Chairman of the session,	
Shri Kamal B. Trivedi, Advocate General, Gujarat		
11.20 am to 12.10 pm	Presentations by: -	
	(i) Shri Manjul Bajpai, Advocate	
	(ii) Shri A.K.Sinha, CMD, BSNL	
	(iii) Shri Arun Poddar, CEO, Zee Turner Ltd.	
	(iv) Shri Madhav Joshi, Chief Legal Officer and Company Secretary,	
	Tata Teleservices Ltd.	
12.10 pm to 12.50 pm	Interactive Session between the panelists and the audience.	

### LUNCH

### SESSION - 2

# (Topic: Consumer Rights under the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India Act, 1997 and Redressal of Consumer Grievances) One ping remarks and introduction of the panelists by Chairman of the Session

01.35 pm to 01.40 pm	Opening remarks and introduction of the panelists by Chairman of the Session,			
	Shri Bharat L Gajipara, Advocate, Chairman, Bar Council of Gujarat			
01.40 pm to 02.55 pm	Presentations by: -			
	(i) Shri Ramji Srinivasan, Advocate			
	<ul><li>(ii) Shri K. Jayaraman- Managing Director &amp; Chief Executive Officer,</li></ul>			
	Hathway Cable & Datacom Private Limited.			
	(iii) Shri Satyapal, CGM, Gujarat Telecom Circle, BSNL			
	(iv) Smt Roop Sharma, President, Cable Federation of India			
	(v) Shri Himansu J Thakkar, Panel Advocate, Consumer Education			
	Research Society, Ahmedabad			
	(vi) Shri R.N Choubey, Advisor (B & CS). TRAI to clarify on behalf of			
	TRAI the points/grievances raised by audiences			
02.55 pm to 3.35 pm	Interactive Session between panelists and the audience			
	W. I. II			
Valedictory Session				
03.40 pm to 03.55 pm	Summing up of the deliberations of the Seminar and Valedictory Address by			
ээг нь рим нь томы рим	Shri Vinod Vaish, Hon'ble Member, Telecom Disputes Settlement & Appellate			
	Tribunal (TDSAT).			
03.55 pm to 04.00 pm	Vote of thanks by <b>Shri A.K. Agnihotri</b> , Registrar, TDSAT.			
· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	, S			

TEA